Institute for Astroparticle Physics

Double Doctoral degree in Astrophysics (DDAp) KIT – UNSAM


Since 2014, the German Argentinean University Center (CUAA-DAHZ) has been funding the Double Doctoral degree in Astrophysics (DDAp), a double doctorate program between Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)  and Universidad Nacional de San Martín (UNSAM) in Buenos Aires. This program has been built on the long-standing collaboration in astroparticle physics that has developed within the Pierre Auger Observatory in Malargüe, Argentina.

Doctoral students participating in the DDAp work on joint research projects in astroparticle physics and detector technologies and usually have two stays in the partner country from a total of about one year. The respective research project is complemented by a lecture program covering astrophysics, astroparticle and particle physics as well as German and Spanish courses. Embedded in the KIT Center Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics (KCETA), doctoral students of DDAp participate as fellows in workshops and lectures of the Karlsruhe School of Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics (KSETA). At the conclusion of a project after about three to three and a half years, KIT and UNSAM, will conduct a joint examination. Upon passing the examination, both institutions jointly award the doctoral degree.

Since 2018, the DDAp program has also been linked to the Helmholtz International Research School for Astroparticle Physics and Enabling Technologies (HIRSAP), a graduate school of KIT and UNSAM. Doctoral students of HIRSAP and KSETA can apply to participate in the DDAp, provided that their research topic is appropriate to the DDAp.

In recent years, the successful collaboration has developed into a "Strategic Partnership UNSAM-KIT" (SPUK), which is open to all joint research activities beyond the original subject areas.

 

Download DDAp_Flyer
DDAp Flyer
HIRSAP

Helmholtz International Research School
for Astroparticle Physics and Enabling Technologies

More

 

Partners and Funding

Institut für Astroteilchenphysik

Double Doctoral degree in Astrophysics (DDAp) KIT – UNSAM


Seit 2014 fördert das Deutsch-Argentinische Hochschulzentrum (DAHZ) das Double Doctoral degree in Astrophysics (DDAp), ein Doppelpromotionsprogramm zwischen dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und der Universidad Nacional de San Martín (UNSAM) in Buenos Aires. Dieses Programm baut auf der langjährigen Zusammenarbeit in der Astroteilchenphysik auf, die sich im Rahmen des Pierre-Auger-Observatoriums in Malargüe, Argentinien, entwickelt hat.

Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, die am DDAp teilnehmen, arbeiten an gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekten auf dem Gebiet der Astroteilchenphysik und Detektortechnologien und haben i.d.R. zwei Aufenthalte im Partnerland von insgesamt ca. einem Jahr. Das jeweilige Forschungsprojekt wird durch Blockvorlesungen zu Themen der Astrophysik, Astroteilchen- und Teilchenphysik sowie durch Deutsch- und Spanischkurse ergänzt. Eingebettet im KIT-Centrum Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik (KCETA) nehmen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden des DDAp als Kollegiaten an Workshops und Vorlesungen der Karlsruher Schule für Elementarteilchenphysik- und Astroteilchenphysik (KSETA) teil. Nach Beendigung des jeweiligen Forschungsthemas findet nach typischerweise drei bis dreieinhalb Jahren eine gemeinsam von KIT und UNSAM durchgeführte Doktorprüfung statt. Bei Bestehen der Prüfung verleihen beide Institutionen den Doktortitel gemeinsam.

Das Programm DDAp ist seit 2018 auch mit der Helmholtz International Research School for Astroparticle Physics and Enabling Technologies (HIRSAP) verknüpft, eine Graduiertenschule von KIT und UNSAM. Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden von HIRSAP und KSETA können eine Doppelpromotion machen, sofern ihr Forschungsthema zum DDAp passfähig ist.

Aus der erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit hat sich in den letzten Jahren eine „Strategische Partnerschaft UNSAM-KIT“ (SPUK) entwickelt, die über die ursprünglichen Themengebiete hinaus allen gemeinsamen Forschungsaktivitäten offensteht.

 

Download DDAp_Flyer
DDAp Flyer
HIRSAP

Helmholtz International Research School
for Astroparticle Physics and Enabling Technologies

Mehr

 

Partner und Förderung