Tritium Laboratory Karlsruhe (TLK)

TRIADE

Tritium adsorption, absorption and desorption are important processes in tritium technology, which can lead to unwanted effects, in particular the so-called memory effect. A history dependent background signal, which limits the achievable accuracy of high-sensitivity tritium analytical systems. Furthermore, it leads to unwanted stored inventories (safety risk) in tritium processing systems and with that, increased effort during disposal.
To study the process of tritium surface contamination during and after gas exposure, a specialized instrument was built at TLK: the TRIADE (Tritium Adsorption Desorption) facility. TRIADE is a versatile system for the investigation of gas-wall interactions of arbitrary solid sample materials. With a detection limit of less than 0.1 monolayer equivalent tritium, surface contaminations can be investigated under ultra-high vacuum conditions from 10-9 mbar to up to 103 mbar. While beta induced x-ray spectroscopy is used to detect remaining surface contaminations, mass spectroscopy is used to detect desorbed gas species.
With that, new materials can be investigated for the use in KATRIN or fusion technology. In the focus, is the search for materials with negligible tritium interaction and negligible inventories after tritium exposure.

Tritiumlabor Karlsruhe (TLK)

TRIADE

Adsorption, Absorption und Desorption von Tritium sind ständig auftretende Effekte in tritiumführenden Systemen, welche zumeist unerwünscht sind und zum sogenannten Tritiummemoryeffekt führen:  Ein Untergrundsignal, das die erreichbare Genauigkeit von hochsensitiven Analytiksystemen limitiert und zudem von der Prozesshistorie abhängt. Darüber hinaus führt es zu unerwünschter Tritiumakkumulation in tritiumführenden Anlagen und damit auch zu erhöhtem Entsorgungsaufwand nach der Außerbetriebnahme.

Für den Nachweis von Tritiumoberflächenkontaminationen während und nach einer Gasexposition, wurde am TLK die TRIADE (Tritium Adsorption Desorption) Anlage aufgebaut. TRIADE erlaubt die Untersuchung von Gas-Wand Wechselwirkungen von beliebigen Festkörperproben. Die Nachweisgrenze liegt bei weniger als 0,1 Monolayer Tritium und Proben können sowohl unter Ultrahochvakuumbedingungen (10-9 mbar) bis hin zu Standardbedingungen (103 mbar) untersucht werden. Verbleibende Oberflächenkontaminationen werden mittels betainduzierte Röntgenspektroskopie nachgewiesen. Ein Massenspektrometer ist für den Nachweis von desorbierten Gasspezies im Einsatz. 

Mit Hilfe dieses Systems kann nach neuen Materialien für den Einsatz bei KATRIN oder in der Fusion gesucht werden. Im Fokus stehen hierbei Kandidaten mit möglichst geringer Gaswechselwirkung und vernachlässigbarer Adsorption und Absorption.